Year 6

IMG_1167 (1)
IMG_1564 (1)
IMG_1561 (1)
IMG_1542 (1)
IMG_1167 (1) IMG_1567 IMG_1564 (1) IMG_1561 (1) IMG_1542 (1) IMG_1573 IMG_1579

In September 2014, big changes were made to the National Curriculum. English, Maths and Science remain very important and are considered the core subjects in primary education. The National Curriculum sets out in detail what must be taught in each of these subjects, and they will take up a substantial part of your child’s learning week. Alongside these are familiar foundation subjects: Art, Computing, Design & Technology, Foreign Languages, Geography, History, Music, and Physical Education. Schools now have more flexibility regarding the content they cover in these areas.

At the end of Year 6, compulsory national assessments, informally known as ‘SATs’, must be taken by all children. Pupils will undertake tests in Reading, Mathematics, and Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling. Writing will be based on Teacher Assessments taken from a variety of writing genres across Year 6. Results will be reported to parents at the end of the year.

The content of the curriculum for Year 6 can be found within the Curriculum Overview and further detail for English and Maths are included below. Click on the links  to find out more.


  • Year 6 Reading
  • Year 6 Writing


  • Year 6 Maths Yearly Overview

To see the newsletters which show what we are learning each half term please see our Newsletter page.

Y6 Welcome Meeting Presentation

Please find below the presentation shown at our Y6 Welcome Meeting

Y6 Residential

Please find below the presentation regarding our Y6 Residential visit to PGL Winmarleigh.

Winmarleigh Parents Meeting PowerPoint
Y6 Science
Y6 Maths
Y6 Writing
Y6 Reading
Y6 Curriculum Overview
Translate »